Travel -

New York State
East New York - Dutchess County
Dutchess County is the next county south of our home county; Columbia.  The area now known as Dutchess County was home to the Wappinger native American peoples.  On November 1st, 1683, Dutchess was one of the first twelve counties established by the Province of New York. 

Into the early 18th century, most of the settlers were Dutch followed by Germans.  From about 1730 onwards, settlers came mainly from New England.  There are a number of famous mansions in the county including Franklin D. Roosevelt's family home, Staatsburg (the Mills Mansion) and the Vanderbilt Mansion.